10 questions with.. Jalpa Amrutlal

Hello supergirls! This week we are going to get to chat with Jalpa Amrutlal. Jalpa is 29 years old and she is one of the co-owners of Guacamole – a Mexican restaurant chain in Lisbon, Portugal. So excited that we get to spend some time with her!

 

10 QUESTIONS WITH

JALPA AMRUTLAL      

 

Hello Jalpa! So happy to get to chat to you. Would love to know more about you and your background! Have you always been living in Lisbon? If not, since when and what are your favourite things about this city?

Hi. I was born in Lisbon and lived here until I was 18. At that point I moved to London for my university and ended up living there for 8 years in total.  In 2014, I decided to move back to Lisbon.

My favorite things about this beautiful city are the viewpoints. Yes, there are so many hills in Lisbon that you get an amazing view from each corner. The second really amazing thing about Lisbon is obviously the seaside. We have really good and sunny weather for more than half of the year and all that Vitamin D really helps with my mood and lifestyle!

Lisbon_09882_Lisboa_Praça_don_Pedro_2006_Luca_Galuzzi.jpg
Lisbon,_Portugal_(Unsplash_3EydKtD18KA).jpg

Your job sounds really exciting! Please tell us more about what you do!

My husband and I are owners of Guacamole Restaurant. It’s a Mexican food chain in Lisbon. My day varies so much its hard to tell what I do as a routine. But just to give you an idea, I can do anything from general accounting, to managing social media, to hiring and training staff or serving customers. But it's great as it never ever gets boring! I get to choose how I go about my day and normally my timetable depends on the daily needs of our restaurants.

 
13415522_1076269355789531_4724440409495992718_o.png
 

That sounds like quite varied and interesting! How did you get to do this?

As a Finance graduate after university I went and worked for Lloyds bank in London for a good few years before deciding to move back to Lisbon. When I moved back I had the awesome opportunity to try out a different industry and I worked for L’Oreal in the finance department, which was amazing. But, for most of my working life, I had a 9-5 office job. Which was nice but I do feel it limits you a bit not only physically but mentally too. Last year, I really felt like I needed to change my lifestyle! My husband and I started talking and we came to the conclusion that I would in fact be a great asset to Guacamole given my background and my skills and considering my absolute passion for food we assumed I would integrate pretty fast!! And it was the best decision ever!

 

What do you find the most exciting about your work?

What is more exciting than food? Nothing, exactly!!!... So how about having a career in that industry? Hell, yes! For me this is motivation every day!

Furthermore.. I am a people person and this kind of job requires a lot of dealing with people, staff and customers. And I simply love that!

 

What have been the biggest challenges you faced in career or life and what helped you overcome them?

As an Indian born in Portugal three decades ago it wasn’t the easiest thing. Growing up I suffered a lot of bullying and so far I really feel like that has been the biggest challenge in my life up until now. However, it did made me stronger and more certain of who I am today.

My mother has helped me a lot and whilst growing up she was always telling me it is ok to be different because you are unique. And that really stuck with me until today.

 

What do you like to wear at work? Do you have any favourite pieces?

I would say I tend to go for very comfortable clothing - a mix of business and casual! Something like trousers, t-shirt, blazers and Converse.

I would say there are two things I can never go without which are my blazers and trainers!!

 

What’s your off-duty style?

I always go for comfortable clothes, like jeans and a baggy shirt with some Indian twist, like a piece of jewelry or a funky jacket.

 

What is your favourite Changing Factor bag?

All-time favorite, the Alien Large Briefcase in Grey.

Alien Briefcase in Cemento

Alien Briefcase in Cemento

Now when it comes to having fun… what do you like to do in your free time??

There's so much you can do outside of work but my top three things would be:

1) Cooking for friends and family and hanging out with them over a nice meal.

2) Going for a nice walk or coffee with my husband

3) Or, if I feel like I need more me time, I tend to go to yoga classes. It is truly my happy place!

 

Share with us a favourite piece of advice, quote, or saying of any kind!

This quote has been with me forever and I still live by it:

“ They laugh at me because I’m different, I laugh at them because they’re all the same”

My biggest piece of advice for everyone out there is to not be scared of who you are, ask yourself who you really are and go put it out there. When you finally get to know yourself, nothing can ever put you down. 

 
Jalpa is 29 years old and she and her husband are owners of Guacamole – a Mexican restaurant chain in Lisbon, Portugal

Jalpa is 29 years old and she and her husband are owners of Guacamole – a Mexican restaurant chain in Lisbon, Portugal

 

Are you enjoying our interviews?? Don't forget to subscribe!!! Be part of #theuntamedclub <3

Have an awesome week!

Love,

TCF team xx

Copy of Yellow-kiss.png